Facing demons

Before I start this, I must say that my dentist is fabulous, and skilled, and charming.

When I was very young my mum took me to the dentist in Uttoxeter. I can’t remember his name (but I’ve thought of googling to fill in the gap). He was a traditional, severe butcher of a dentist and I was traumatised. It took a long time before the family found a lovely dentist in Ashbourne. Slowly, I’ve learned to accept that dentist visits are necessary. I’ve been able to go regularly, and even to the hygienist.

I was due my six monthly check up when we locked down last March. Shortly after that, I developed a cavern in an old filling that rivalled the Grand Canyon. I was lucky and left well alone, but it remained a source of worry.....

I cancelled a trip to the Dentist in January. My excuse ? I had to cross the border into Derbyshire, and their police were fining even visitors who drove five miles to walk round a reservoir. 

I nearly cancelled this morning.
No antibodies yet.
Heavy snow.
Just fear.

But I didn’t.
I dug the car out of the snow and braved it.
I went.
My dentist was super, and reassuring. 
Three x-rays, a filling, and a largish sum later, I was on my way home.

Actually, I enjoyed getting out into the beautiful sunshine, and the lovely countryside.

I stopped for a photo of Sudbury Hall on the way home. 

I’m feeling irrationally pleased with myself. 

And I’m going to Google the villain from all those years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.