A Bit More White Stuff

I had to shift about 5" of snow of the car before heading to the shop first thing.
Not sure if next was very pleased when I got in and just drove away while they were spinning their wheels (well there were two of them and we had had a yesterday discussion about a light front wheel drive with skinny tyres being better in the snow than a wide rear wheeled drive -- they have both and you can guess which one they were in).
On the way down I passed some muppet trying to come up the hill with the wheels spinning and the engine revving like mad producing ice at a great rate of knots.
When I had finished shopping I could see that the traffic was at a standstill and backing up from where I had passed the idiot - so I took a different way home and had no problems.
Some people should not be behind the wheel of a car at the best of times let alone when there is snow and ice. The really worrying thing is there are discussions about whether learners should just be handed a full licence without sitting a test 'if it is known they are going to pass' . How do they know that without a test? Teaching standards have dropped and there are 'targets' for the number of full licences issued. Surely to God it is down to safety and competence?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.