'Coffee for Dan'

In principle, I do believe that kids should do chores and help out around the house. In practice, less so. I suppose that might have changed last spring when Dan and Abi started living with me full time but, to be honest, I'm quite happy doing everything required to keep the house ticking along*.

Not that they won't do anything I ask them to, such as stripping their beds, and if they come into the kitchen while I'm washing up, they'll grab a drying up cloth without being asked. They're good kids.

One thing that has changed over the last few months, though, is that Dan has started taking is turn at making the coffees. And if he was going to start doing one thing around the house, I don't think I could choose anything better :-)

*Full disclosure, I do have a cleaner who comes in once a fortnight and her absence was notable during the first lockdown. (These days we go and make use of the office while she works her magic.)

****
Reading: 'A Treachery Of Spies' by Manda Scott

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.