ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Man in Black

In less than a year I’ve gone from a man who didn’t even possess a pair of running shoes to a man who now has separate gear for working out and for running. My latest purchase is this lightweight shell jacket and it had its second workout today.
Throughout most of winter I’d made do with a hoody for warmth and wind protection but it always felt a bit heavy and offered no protection at all in the event of rain!
Now that it’s actually getting a bit warmer, I just wanted something lightweight that would protect me from the wind and the odd shower, whilst also not making me overheat. With non essential shops still being closed, I found this in Asda, of all places, but thought it was worth a punt at only £20.
So far, so good. The fit is good and it covers all that I want it to. There are a couple of large, zipped pockets on the outside and some reflective panels dotted here and there (I don’t see myself ever running in the dark but it is the sort of jacket I might well use if just out and about on a chill summer evening so the reflective bits might come in useful then). The neck is not too constricting even when fully zipped up and there is a useful hood if caught out in the rain. It certainly keeps out the wind but, at the same time, allows heat out. I’m definitely a lot less sweaty at the end of a run - a major plus point now the weather is getting warmer generally.
I went for a run this morning and met up with Mrs C in town. We grabbed a couple of coffees and then went for a walk. The jacket proved equally adept at keeping me cool on the run as it did keeping me warm on the walk. All in all a good purchase which I suspect I’ll get a lot of use out of - and not just when out running or walking.
Being a sucker for punishment, I’ve even done a bit of weight training this afternoon (mainly because I was one workout short for this weeks Strava challenge) but it’s just started drizzling, so that’s the end of exercise for the day.
Time to slob out now....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.