Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Calm canal

A lovely sunny morning lured us out to walk down to the canal. But actually, I wanted to walk past the glaziers who put our secondary glazing in (around six years ago), as they will need to come and fix our shattered pane. But it was confirmed that it’s closed, which I assumed. Luckily, it’s not an emergency.

The canal was gorgeous and calm and a wee sun trap, though we didn’t stop for a coffee at the barge. JR had a midday Pilates session, so she set off back home at speed, while Archie and I dandered and stopped and posed (Extra) and sat and generally took ages.

We’re watching ‘The Serpent’ at the mo. Quite riveting, really, based on a true story of a conman who murdered young travellers on the ‘hippy trail’ in Asia in the 1970s. It was just too easy for this awful man to pick up innocent, naive backpackers and bump them off. The poor parents couldn’t find out anything in those olden times of no emails, What’sApp etc, so they didn’t hear from their offspring for months on end anyway. I was in Bangkok in 1975, but I was with two sensible friends, and we stayed with a friend who lived there who looked after us and showed us around. 

I wish I’d been blipping then, as I’ve forgotten so much of it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.