Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

e-bike saga (contd.)

Yesterday’s sunshine and mild weather didn’t hang around for long! It was a cold and overcast morning when Robert came to pick Archie up. He went even crazier than usual this time - maybe because he had to wait a wee while - crying and charging round into the garden and grabbing great mouthfuls of garden compost, which he loves (but he knows he’s not allowed). Archie that is...

They had a big long walk while JR did her Gym Bunnies Zoom session (in fact, two sessions) and I did the bike. The last episode of Spiral Series 3 and it had me on the edge of my (bicycle) seat! Great acting.

In the afternoon I popped over to cut Uncle A’s hair, which has been annoying him. In fact on at least two occasions in this lockdown he’s gone into town searching for a barber shop that was open. I have reminded him (again) they’re NOT open until April 26th. I did a pretty good job, but he can wear a hat anyway...

Back to the e-bike saga. You may remember that I had to give up as I toppled over a couple of times and lost my nerve. Then I thought I’d solved it when I bought a fold up e-tricycle (an amazing invention - folded up just as small as the e-bike). But it was not to be - tricycles are dodgy and they can topple over (as I discovered). I sent it back. 

But I now have the answer. ‘Swinging Wheels’ - stabilisers for adults. Developed in Holland, and they know about bikes. They’re removable, and the bike can still be folded up into the car. So I’ve bought yet another e-bike with the magic stabilisers attachment attached - the wheels themselves can be removed.

ONE would be impossible, TWO were nigh impossible, so were THREE, but hopefully FOUR wheels will be the answer. If not - then I’ll give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.