Repeating Patterns

This picture pretty much sums up the slightly pathetic scene here on Wildwood Trail. John is bored, frustrated and somewhat bolshy. Like anyone who has ever had to deal with them, he hates the crutches and the boot and how hard it is to do everything with them. I ordered him a knee scooter and some forearm crutches which will be here in a couple of days and I hope will help. 

I am realizing how much he did around here now that I am having to do it all. I'm sure it will be considerably easier when I am not suffering from the side effects from my second Covid shot. Today is better than yesterday but still I feel weak and exhausted. My picture demonstrates our pathetic situation as we both try to take a rest. Spike was on high alert because the gardeners were working right outside the bedroom door and also because he is afraid/distrustful of 'the boot' and the crutches

John saw the doctor yesterday who did nothing but look at the x-ray he already had, tell John he was doing everything right and that he thought it would be more like ten weeks of non-weight bearing than six. The alternative to that was to have pins and plates put into the bone to support it. Needless to say John isn't happy about that and I'm not happy about having to put us both through a long drive through rush hour traffic when he could, as John suggested, have seen him via Zoom.  I'm thinking we should make an appointment with the doctor who did my two foot surgeries. Sutter Health, the entity that cancelled his Covid vaccine two days before he was supposed to get it is not high in our estimation right now.

However, there is some truly good news.  Dana and Jim managed to get John an appointment for a Covid shot this Friday in Healdsburg. His second shot will be three weeks later at the same time and the same place. And best of all, Jim will drive him there....that is truly wonderful news. What would we do without them?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.