Boring day

No lunch zooms, no meetings. Today was boring but I've had too much excitement so boring is good. 

This morning I was thinking about when I was learning all those British insults on Last Tango in Halifax and sharing their meanings. Then a kind person let me know that the definitions might not be .... "complete" .... so I checked a different dictionary and learned that I'd been blipping lots of different words for a piece of anatomy and a sex act.

Apparently all British insults relate to anatomy and sex.

Since then I continued to learn British terms, but the next one .... uh .... I was uncomfortable sharing on blip either because of the specific sex act or because I'd suddenly become bashful. 

Then Elon Musk used a term. As an economist his tweet was plain, but then someone shared that the word he used was British slang for - you guessed it - a sex act, a very specific sex act - which made the tweet much funnier - but again, I was too bashful to share it. 

A blipper innocently used said term this morning and it entertained my inner five-year-old boy all afternoon which is fine because, as I said, it was a boring day. 

In more interesting news, there are a couple of organizations in the world that are dealing with human bodily waste in small cities by bundling it up for fuel. They dry it and mix it and make it into bricks for burning. This is great because it takes care of a substance that stinks and spreads disease and uses it instead of cutting down yet more trees and contributing to desertification. AND it means that waste treatment can, in theory anyway, have a profit center. I don't know if the economics actually work out but in concept it is cool. 

BTW, all American curse words are religion, sex, anatomy, or defecation. There. I've brought it all full circle. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.