ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Footloose

I went to collect my bass amp today, after it had been sent off for repair. In spite of gloomy predictions that it might be a while before it could be looked at, it was actually less than a fortnight between me dropping it off and receiving an email to say it was ready for collection.
It seems a couple of transistors had failed. The good news is that this was covered by the extended warranty, so all I had to pay for was the carriage charge. The less good news is that one of the rubber feet had become detached. Not sure how or when, but the net result was that I had an unattached foot and the screw that previously retained it had snapped off inside the bottom of the amp.
I tried drilling out the remnant of the screw, but couldn’t get the drill bit to bite properly, and I merely ended up with an extra hole! In the end, it’s only shifted the position of the foot by a couple of millimetres so it all looks as it should.
With the foot back on, it was time to test that everything was working. Power on and new bass plugged in. A bit of twiddling with the controls and the notes are soon booming out. Mindful of the neighbours, I resist the urge to try the full 500 watts the amp is capable of - that will have to wait until gigs are possible again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.