ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Another Ticket

....which we won’t be using! Two more gig cancellations today. We should originally have seen Joanne Shaw Taylor around this time last year - it was actually the first of many gigs to be rescheduled, initially to last October, then subsequently to this March. That was never going to happen and it’s now moved to November this year. That was one move too many for me - I was really only going in the first place because it was a local gig. As we also have tickets to see Blondie on the date it’s moved to, I decided to take advantage of the offer of a refund. And I’m sure she’ll be back to Kendal again in the future.
Eric Clapton had four dates at the Royal Albert Hall scheduled for this May, and I had tickets for one of them. The announcement today was that two of the dates have moved to 2022 and two have had to be cancelled. Guess which category my tickets fall into! I’m getting a full refund but I’d rather be going to a rescheduled gig because I’m not sure Eric will carry on touring after next year. Still, I did see him just before lockdown last year and this year’s concert was going to be a very much unexpected bonus! I will live in hope that he does manage a couple more dates in the U.K. before he hangs up his guitar for good.
The next gig I have pencilled in now is the Beach Boys - also at the Royal Albert Hall. But the date is 11th June - 10 days before Boris’s earliest suggested date for all social restrictions to be eased. I’m expecting the cancellation/rescheduling email to arrive shortly...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.