The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

A Year On

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

I tried hard not to think about the date but there really was no escaping it.

A year ago, 335 people in the UK were reported as having died as a result of contracting COVID-19. At 8.30 pm, Boris addressed the UK with the message “I urge you at this moment of national emergency to stay at home, protect our NHS and save lives.“

I remember so much chat and speculation, “It won’t be 3 weeks. Will It be 6, 9, maybe even 12?” I am very glad I was not in possession of a crystal ball!

In the year that followed, there would only be 75 days we could be inside someone else’s house. The situation both united and divided. It brought out the best and the worst.

The UK death toll currently stands at 126,284. The global loss is 2,746,311 (roughly half the population of Scotland).

We are still in lockdown but with the vaccines being rolled out, it feels very different now because there is hope. “Normality” is almost within touching distance and I look forward to the things I’ll be able to blip about.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.