The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Deep Breaths

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Speaking to you O’h dear was definitely the highlight of my day. I’m glad we managed to chat because today definitely had ‘challenging moments.’

I decided to brave the supermarket. We needed the basics and I had been given a list by Mary Doll.

It was VERY odd. Sainsbury’s had been cleared out of so many things. Whole aisles were completely empty (tinned veg, pulses, pasta, rice, loo rolls & cleaning products) as were most of the freezers. But there were LOADS of fresh fruit and vegetables. Staff were handing out fresh flowers and gifts (leftover from Mother’s Day) to try and cheer people up which was both sweet and sad.

Funnily enough, I went to Waitrose and managed to get most of the other things on my list. Obviously people who shop in the Morningside Waitrose don’t stockpile. It’s unseemly*!

I had to pick up pre-ordered prescriptions (from 2 different pharmacies) in Penicuik for Mary Doll and Victor. As you can see from the photo, the queues were fairly lengthy and I ended up queuing for almost 2 hours.

Pharmacy 1
The process was slowed down even further by the person who went in with COVID-19 symptoms (despite phoning earlier and being told not to) and meant that the poor staff had to do a deep clean. I did rationalise that the person was probably scared and not thinking straight but only after I had calmed down the voice in my head that was screaming “YOUSTUPIDSELFISH***********************************************”**

Pharmacy 2
There were two people ahead of me in the queue who were waiting for a prescription to take the edge of an addiction. They were obviously struggling with the wait and a bit agitated.

In they went and decided to kick off at the pharmacist because she refused to give them the following day’s prescription to take away. Amazing really, given how addicts are well-known for their self-control.

So that was pretty much my day. The news of the lockdown came tonight and it was a relief. I know it won’t be easy but we have the luxury of being bored. Our amazing frontline NHS staff don’t.

C

*and makes you an arsehole

**Insert every swear word you know

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.