WSB still life

We love purple sprouting broccoli (PSB), and have a few plants in the garden, but they are huge, needing a lot of space, and not much harvest from each.  They have taken forever to produce a few sprouts.  So I often buy it at the farm shop.

On my visit on Friday, I spotted this - I've never come across it before.  I asked what it was called, and the lady serving in the shop said they just call it "white purple sprouting".  She reckoned it has a slightly different texture, but wasn't sure she could tell the difference from PSB in flavour.

Having consulted Mr Google, I discover that it is generally called white sprouting broccoli, often shortened to WSB.  According to one website, it is much nicer than PSB.  We'll see.

Here's hoping everyone has had a good Easter Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.