HarryG

By HarryG

St James's Piccadilly

Their caravanserai is open most days for a floating population of traders and draws in browsers and blippers and people who just want to read a paper in the quiet amidst the noise.

Today was a lovely day. For lunch I met a long standing friend whom I had not seen in nearly 30-years and we chatted as if the gap was only weeks. Then it rained as I cycled home and the earth let out that wonderful loamy smell which promises new life. And a neighbour came round to the flat for something on the administration of the block and told me her heart-filling news that she is engaged and pregnant. I had to say that I thought something was up because I noticed that the pattern of car movements had changed. Oh! the joys of community living...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.