Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

The 5K Challenge...

Falling on the back of the "couch to 5km" running challenge that apparently has been successful over the lockdown period, some bright spark has come up with a "couch to 5km" swim challenge which will take place around about the summer solstice.

Now I read about it on the usual Social Media outlets and thought "yeh whatever!" and then one of the swimming group decided that they were going to go for it!!

Then another said yes, then another so surprise surprise, somehow I've been drawn in :-)) (there's mibbees a wee competitive bone in my body!!!)

Now my starting position is not "The couch" as I've been swimming for a while now but the furthest I've swam in a pool is 2.5km.

What could I achieve in open water??

So today it was Harbour to the lifeboat station (just under the Rail Bridge) and back.

The weather was mixed... Sun Snow Hail and back to Sun but 1.8km later the first goal was achieved....

Now to start pushing it further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.