ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Blowing in the Wind

Struggling to find a blip subject today, as I’ve not really been anywhere. I popped into town briefly, but didn’t hang around as there were just too many people about. Quite a few tourists wandering aimlessly around and there were queues outside most shops. Somewhat worryingly, I walked past a Greggs, which had a sign on the door saying maximum number allowed in at any one time was three, yet there were at least half a dozen people inside and a few more clustered around the door trying to get in. It seems stupid thrives on sausage rolls
A quick gym session before lunch, in a much calmer environment - just me and the staff. Pleasingly, I was able to manage my pre-lockdown weights today, which means either I’ve managed to keep the fitness levels up during the last four months, or I wasn’t really pushing myself last time I was at the gym!
So I just decided to snap a few things around the house and see what took my fancy. Which turned out to be these two, well used, Hohner harmonicas which belonged to my late father-in-law. He used to play in a jazz band in the late 50s/early 60s, so they are well over fifty years old. He died in 2000, but we only discovered the harmonicas - along with his clarinet and saxophone - when we cleared the house after my mother-in-law had to go into a home about five years ago.
I’ve cleaned them as best I can and straightened the box, which was quite badly crushed. They do both make a noise, but as I can’t play harmonica, I can’t say if it’s the right noise! Maybe I should have learnt to play during lockdown, but it’s not exactly the most family friendly activity when we’re all confined to the house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.