ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

The Raven

Watching this fellow strutting across our lawn this afternoon. Didn’t seem to have a care in the world until I picked up my phone to grab a photo. At which point he stopped, turned and gave me the sort of look that suggested I was very lucky there was a double glazed window between us. I took the hint and backed away, leaving him to his stroll.
First proper visit to the guitar shop for four months today. Needless to say, I couldn’t resist the temptation of all the goodies on display and a new amp will be mine next week. And possibly a new acoustic...
To the gym again this afternoon. Third day in a row, but I’m off to Chester for a couple of days tomorrow and wanted to get the full programme done before we went.
Most exercises I’m not too far off pre-lockdown levels, but I’ve really had to drop down on the presses as these were the sort of exercises I couldn’t do at home. Last time I was there I was up to the 32kg dumbbells, but today I could only manage the 24kgs - in fact, I struggled to even lift one 32kg dumbbell off the rack lol!
Massive queues outside the Costa coffee shops today. Went to the quietest one we could find and discovered the reason - all drinks only 50p if you used the app. Well worth the wait!
It’s nice to see everywhere open again, but I do find the crowds slightly unsettling, after so many months of barely seeing anyone. Let’s hope that these new freedoms do not result in a surge of cases or hospital admissions. We’ve been promised we won’t go back into lockdown, but I could see the next stages on the roadmap being delayed if the figures start heading in the wrong direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.