ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

One Moment In Time

And that moment was 3pm on 23rd December 2020, the day we left the flat before lockdown. Nearly four months later and we’re back. Christmas tree still up, all the rubbish from the new washer dryer still in the middle of the floor. And everything covered in a fine layer of dust from where the plumber fitted the new sink.
First thing - after opening the blinds and windows - was to throw away all the food in the fridge and most of what was in the freezer. Secondly I needed to sort the washer dryer. The plumber who fitted the sink had very kindly had a go at installing it - even though I’d asked him to leave it for me - but I had to take it out and start again because he’d missed a vital bit off!
It proved a lot more complicated than I thought and I still haven’t got the door back on because the hinges need to be moved - not something I can do with the limited tools I have here. Still, we have put a load through it so I can confirm it works and doesn’t leak. Which is a massive improvement over the old one!!
A few more hours spent cleaning and we’d had enough, so went out for a walk around the racecourse to clear our heads. Very pleasant it was too, in the evening sunshine.
An early night tonight, I think, before facing the demands of mother. Even though I’ve not seen her for four months, and have had weekly calls asking when I can come down, it’s apparently “a bit inconvenient” if I call tomorrow. Well tough. We’re only here for a couple of days so you either see me then or not at all. Miraculously, she is now free in the afternoon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.