Cygnus

By Cygnus

Audleys Castle

We had a great outing to Castleward today, the setting for Westeros from ‘Game of Thrones’ but in actuality the home of the Ward family for about four hundred years. The photo is of Audleys Castle, occupied from the 14th-15th centuries by the Audleys and then sold to the Wards around 1645. It holds a beautiful position on the coast and the view out over Strangford Lough to Porteferry and environs is marvellous.

The drive down is lovely, too and I looked out for blipper sharon_mckelvey as we travelled through her home town, but no luck today!

We had coffee by the sea and then lunch in the sunken garden beside ‘the big house’, where I must have left my (very expensive) glasses, which I was extremely sad to learn once I’d got home again. I tried to get through to the Castleward office by phone, but someone picked up and immediately put the phone down again. Subsequent calls were met with a recorded message.
I guess folk stop work early (this was at 3pm) in these COVID times. I’ve emailed and I really hope someone finds my glasses and hands them in, or I will be a very sad bunny.

So after a gorgeous day and a great outing I’ve ended up feeling a bit squished. It will pass, no doubt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.