Beewriter

By Beewriter

For Philip

The sun was shining, the water was 9.6 degrees and Jenny, Victoria and Alexandra were down at the Quays...a perfect start to the day. There are lots of swimmers there now as the summer season began two weeks ago, but it is well organised and there is a feeling of normality. I swam one lap of the full course last week but this week I did two. It was harder with my aching hip and knee but the cold water helped and so I was okay for a walk this afternoon.

My hip was so painful at the beginning of the week and I’ve not been able to walk as much so I was glad to get in the cold water. I think I will look at buying a spa plunge tub to have in the garden.

Pat, Ellen and I walked down the loop line to Monton. We arrived just in time to put my full sized Union Jack flag on a bench and stand for the minute silence for the Duke of Edinburgh. I then popped open the half bottle of fizz I’d taken and we raised a glass to him. Ellen had baked scones which were delicious.

Gale came round this evening and we had a drink in the summer house, Kathryn then joined us later. It has been a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.