Project

I didn't see her little face today. But I saw her handprint from a small craft project we are doing at work.... And I heard her voice. Eventually, when I called the house because she'd not rung and I needed to sort some things with her.

She text me this morning to say her spike had not yet been found and she was heading to her ensemble. I emailed the school midday to arrange shipping a replacement spike to school and they said "all is well, it's been found". I would perhaps have liked a little note to that effect this morning, but anyway. I waited with baited breath to speak to Katie. It was a day of firsts - school assessments, dectet, orchestra, choir, confessing she'd lost what she needed to do the rehearsal....

The little toad refused to get her phone from the cupboard. I suspect she thought she was going to be in trouble. I knew the spike had been found, but not where and was intrigued when she didn't phone me, and didn't even get her phone out. I had suspicions. Anyway.... The aforementioned spike appeared in the ensemble room at the first rehearsal. Except, there was no way it could have got in the ensemble room. She used it in the boarding house through the weekend. I think the reality is that she found it in her case and was embarrassed. 

Today she had her first day of assessments and it started with maths, which she was happy with despite having been in a stew about it prior to the test. This afternoon, she was cross because she was late for her orchestra rehearsal to do a preparation assignment that could easily have been done as homework or at lunchtime. Obviously, we want to keep on top of her academics, we absolutely neither of us were arguing against doing it, but she was very upset and quite embarrassed to be held back from going to her first rehearsal that she'd been looking forward to.

She was also beginning to panic, tomorrow is Tuesday and the impending piano lesson got her in a massive state.

Even though the lows are big and dramatic, there is no question in her mind about her wanting to be there. She loves the music, she loves her practice time, she likes her school. We just coming back to the "it's amazing but really hard". It's only been a week. I have to keep telling myself that. It's only been a week and what a week it's been.

I'm so tired, it's taking huge amounts of my brain. I'm so tired that I forgot to go to work today. I sat down to do my home working and got a call from my boss to ask where I was as I was supposed to be meeting someone at work. I had even arranged the meeting myself. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.