Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Shopping

Early gym for JR, but a leisurely breakfast, radio and newspapers morning for me. So much news!

Later, the day seemed to brighten up, so we all set off for a walk a) to look at the blossom again and b) to get a coffee and hopefully a pastry.

The Meadows blossom show is still fantastic. Everybody walks along smiling and looking up at the pink canopy. Though there’s a lot on the ground now.

Popped in to a charity shop to check on the DVDs. I’ve realised that it’s well worth checking these. Uncle A loves watching his favourite DVDs (over and over again) so I chose a few that I thought he might like. 

We walked down the Mile, and then down Cockburn Street. Though there was a wee queue outside outside our favourite cafe (The Milkman), I snuck in and took over the window seat - the other folk were just wanting takeaway coffees. Archie is so good - he likes just watching people coming and going.

We walked on down the hill, and through the Gardens. I checked my buses, and one was just coming! I love that. So I came home while the others walked on further (15, 962 steps). I got a text saying they were having an ice cream at Mary’s Milk Bar. Hmmmm.

I popped along to visit Uncle A and to deliver the new DVDs. Turns out he had two of them already (so I chose well), but kept two. One of them was a Dave Allen DVD. Older folk will remember him. He was an Irish comedian who just sat on a stool, drinking whiskeys (presumably Irish whiskeys for him), and telling stories. I seem to remember they were quite amusing, but perhaps they’re not considered PC now.

My broadband technician comes tomorrow. And the painters. It’s all go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.