Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Exciting invitation

JR went off to the gym, while I welcomed the painters, checking to see if they wanted a cuppa. Actually, I had to keep shutting doors and pulling down the blinds in rooms when they moved from the back to the front. I wasn’t quick enough and a ladder (with a painter carrying it) appeared at the front bay window. Archie went ballistic. 

When JR came back, I set off for my torture session. There is new trainer, a very chatty young chap who is so enthusiastic and encouraging, that I think I did put slightly more effort in. Walked home and it started to rain, but I forgot my bus pass.

The technician rang to say he’d be with me soon, so JR took Archie out - he’d had quite a lot of stress already with strange - possibly dangerous (in his wee mind) - men trying to invade his house.

The techy debunked the theory that the ‘weak security’ was a problem. Apparently it’s an ‘Apple thing’. He plugged in his magic box, checked everything (and no, there are not 10 devices on it, but four). He re-set things and said that I didn’t need a new router, which I quite fancied.

When JR came back, I set off with Archie across the Meadows. I wanted to swap the two DVDs that Uncle A had discarded. Maybe I was a bit cheeky, as it’s a charity shop, and I should have just bought two more, but the girl didn’t mind.

We stopped in Kauai for a coffee. Very busy. Very noisy. Archie really doesn’t like it there, but I took my coffee and we went and sat in the park.

Plenty of blossom on the ground, but the trees are still wonderful. I took lots of photos, and several people commented as they passed by on what a good dog Archie was, posing nicely.

Almost 10,000 steps today, I was very very slow walking home.

A couple of days ago we got an email inviting us to the opening of the new John Lewis store in the new St James Quarter. Great excitement! But it was sold out - hadn’t answered it quickly enough. Great disappointment...

However, Hazel, our neighbour, has just got an invite today (being ex-staff) and has asked JR to come with her. Such elation on JR’s part! I’m actually fairly excited to see it too, but I can wait a couple more days. 

EDIT: NO deaths from COVID reported today in the whole of the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.