Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets an old friend

JR went off to an early gym session, and as it was dry and sunny, I cut the grass for only the second time this year. 

I then took Archie across to my favourite cafe to check up on the new app I installed last night, as they requested. It has wiped my account and the vast stash of loyalty points that I’ve built up over a whole year of almost weekly coffees, even during lockdown. 

Anyway, a member of staff sorted it out, but I had to rejoin and then my points were eventually confirmed. It took her ages, but Archie and I sat there - it wasn’t busy as it was still well before lunchtime. I was given a (free) coffee.

On the way home, we fiddled around for ages taking photos in the Meadows - blossom is still pretty good. On the way up the road, we found Lutzi at her gate. We haven’t seen her for absolutely ages. She is famously barky at every single dog who passes by - including wee Rufus - but for some reason, she likes Archie. 

We called in on Christine. I always know her nephew’s two dogs are visiting because Archie stops at the gate, and has to be persuaded to come in. They’re OK with him, but perhaps they’re giving him evil looks when the humans aren’t watching. He’s certainly very wary of them.

Back home and JR took Archie out again to the store that I’d spotted some wee white plants in yesterday. They walked there and back. Then she decided she needed more, so got the bus both ways. But no use planting them the front garden yet - scaffolding has taken over the whole place, though not much seems to be happening...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.