Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Bench

Archie had a visit to the vet again to fix his wee recurring problem. I decided to take the bus/walk with him, as JR was going to the supermarket.

We took the bus there, and walked all the way back, (8,007 steps) though I was tempted to wait at several bus stops, and really struggled coming up the final long hill. But we passed my favourite bench - I was so glad to see that it hadn’t been tarted up. Check out that fabulous lichen (Extra).

When we came back, we had scaffolding all round the bay window, but they’ve been careful with the ‘garden’. All this was very disturbing for Archie, but we spent a lot of time in the kitchen at the back.

JR was very excited today to go off with Hazel to the official opening of the new John Lewis, which is in the brand new ‘St James Quarter’ (my links are not working) - an upmarket shopping/entertainment/social area which has been in the works for many years, but I reckon the imminent opening (of the whole Quarter) could not have been timed better, and will help in a COVID recovery.

Archie and I had a wee walk round the Links in the afternoon, but timed it wrong - full of squealing school kids leaving school.

JR has gone off for the evening’s Big Event. She spent quite a lot of the afternoon deciding which outfit to wear. Mind you, she hasn’t really been able to do that for quite a long time. Archie and I had our favourite tea - cheese on toast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.