Enzotraveldog

By Enzotraveldog

The debate

‘Nice car’ sez I.
‘It looks like a brick’ says the Silverback.
‘Nice colour’ sez I.
‘The Sparrow would hate it’ says he.

In the science of debating that’s known as ‘enlisting an outside authority to strengthen your case’.

We walked on a little way, in silence.

‘Why would the Sparrow hate it?’ asks I.
‘Because she likes the graceful lines of classic British sports cars and that looks like a brick’ replies he.

My silence signalled my surrender.

‘Can we get a classic car’ I enquired after a while.
‘No’ came the reply.
‘The Sparrow likes ‘em’ sez I.
(Two can play at the outside authority game, thinks I )
‘They’re a maintenance nightmare’ says he.

Luckily we were nearly home, so I peed on my favourite lamp post and walked on without speaking.

To his credit he served up a lovely breakfast of ‘Nature’s Own’ biscuits. ‘Silly name for biscuits’ thought I, but didn’t say anything.

Comes the time to eat, all debating must stop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.