No dogs in the pond please!

Today I went past the newly fenced pond in Bushy Park at the Hampton Hill end.
The notice says...after restoration works on the pond to improve conditions for wildlife including newts, amphibians etc which have declined in recent years....the fencing is to allow people to enjoy the area but control access by dogs......dogs entering and exiting the water cause bank erosion, damage marginal plants and stirs up sediment whilst contamination from tick and flea treatments is harmful to wildlife.
It is quite a small pond and I expect it has had more use than usual in the last year, by dogs. Also there is a relatively new Park Manager who is bringing in some changes I think.
I really don’t see this as a problem as there are still many other areas of water dogs could go into. However I have seen moaning on the local ‘Nextdoor’ website and also moaning about dogs having to be on leads in the Royal Parks while the deer are giving birth...I saw one not on a lead today which was disappointing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.