Euros Sceptic

The Euros are almost upon us so I've gone for a topical image of an old football table top. It has been in our garage for years but did not belong to us as kids, it is no longer attached to a table and has never actually had a ball! 
I always get over excited when a major football final or tournament is on the horizon but I think I need to be a bit more sceptical. The last three finals I have watched - the FA Cup Final, the Europa League Final and the Champions League Final - have all been relatively poor games. Some great defending and sterling midfield play but not exactly a plethora of goalmouth action. All the sides involved appeared to have been more concerned about not losing and cancelling each other out than grabbing these games by the scruff of the neck and going for it.
So this time I will temper my excitement and hope to be pleasantly surprised. I also sometimes need to be a bit more patient. I started watching a game at the last Euros in 2016 - Portugal v Hungary - but got frustrated and turned over the TV channel, thereby missing four of the goals in a six goal thriller (final score 3 - 3)! Mind you it must be said that was one of the very few compelling games in the whole tournament.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.