My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Lincolnshire Landscape........

................in the late afternoon. When I first moved to Yellow Belly country ( the nickname for persons born in the county) I really missed the countryside of Yorkshire and really thought the landscape round here quite boring. Over the years I have come to appreciate the place for what it is - flat and friendly and with wonderful light. Today's picture is just a farm road in the late afternoon sun - but I like it!

The term Yellow Belly given to the locals has several origins - none authenticated as far as I know - but I like 2 of them -
1) The Royal North Lincolnshire militia wore yellow waistcoats.
2) A Folk etymology says that the term originated from Elloe, the name of the deanery which serves the fen area of the Lincoln Diocese. This in turn taking it's name from the Saxon Wapentake which was referred to as Ye Elloe Bellie -Elloe meaning out of the morass, whilst Bel was a Celtic word for hole or hollow.

The second sounds the more likely to me.

The weather improved a little today - just a few flakes of snow but in the main, bright and sunny - temperature just above freezing.

Lower case "L" to enlarge if you wish

Hope you have had a nice day..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.