Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2021 Saturday

At 8:30 in the evening, I am doing one load of wash: a tablecloth and placemats. It is the best time of the day to do this.

Why? Because no one is sitting at the dining table and because the washer and dryer are in the garage, which tends to get quite warm during the day in this pre-summer season in sunny Southern California. And because I am a night person.

Thinking about temperature, this coming Tuesday triple digits will happen on the thermometer. Egads! That will enhance our motivation to get back to the Central Coast.

This has been a complete 100% “do-nothing” day. Mr. Fun has a right knee that began to be painful over a week ago and now has refused to function (appointment with orthopedic surgeon is this coming Tuesday). So with him mostly sitting, someone might think that I would be doing double-time. But no.

I have been mostly sitting with him and having a thoroughly relaxing day and doing it pretty much guilt free. After almost one year, my life is honestly starting to feel like I am retired. I am a “do-er,” so constant “doing” and “checking off my list” and feeling like I have “accomplished something” is my natural behavior. The Bible explains that we are human beings, not human doings. Slowly, I grasping that knowledge.

Today I should have gone to the grocery store, but I didn’t even do that. I’ll have to learn to stop the “shoulda, woulda, and couldas.” There’s always tomorrow.

The tablecloth and placemats are back on the table.

And that was our Saturday!
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

P.S. I love my OLD Maytag washer. I hate the newer double stacking machines. I have double stacking at the coast house; they aren’t as efficient as these “antiques.” These also have no whistles and bells; I like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.