On Hampton Court Bridge..newly painted?

Today I went to Molesey to the hairdressers and afterwards I took a stroll around the shops there and went to look at the river, on foot. I have never noticed this coat of arms before as I think it has been painted quite recently. I did know that the bridge was originally a toll bridge but not for very long! The coat of arms is of the family of Thomas Allen who built the bridge in 1866. He imposed a toll to recoup the costs but in 1876 the. Metropolitan  Board of Works purchased it from him and there was no longer a toll so very popular with local people. 

The traffic is so bad around Hampton Court, big queues again today and going towards Sunbury. As the Flower Show starts 5th July no doubt it will get even worse. I think the problem is exacerbated by the closure of the road going all the ways through Bushy Park..which is definitely closed until March 2022. ( And I imagine it will stay that way permanently) I would not want to have to travel to/ from work over Hampton Court Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.