Yesterday’s Entry Today

Every Dad is special and my Dad is no different, he was one in a million. By the time this picture was taken in the mid ‘60’s he had left the Regular Army and was in what was then the Territorial Army as an instructor.
Patient, rarely yielding to temper or ill humour, he had an easy way about him, a fund of good stories and some great friends.
I shared some great times with him and was immensely proud when this quiet and unassuming man would turn up at various places in my career and be accepted by my superiors and peers as “one of us”. Many is the time I came off parade to find my Dad safely ensconced in the Seniors Mess with new found friends.

He might often have told others of how proud he was of me but I made sure my Dad knew how proud I was of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.