Worst birthday... evah!

Today is Abi's birthday and, usually, a chance for me to reflect on her charm, ferocious intelligence, and bravery, as well as the fact that she's one of the most naturally funny people I know. 

Today, though, the day she turned seventeen, she got a positive result from a Covid test. This was less than 20 minutes after the 'test and trace' app told Dan that he needed to self-isolate. Sheer bloody coincidence.

So, that's us housebound until the 12th of July. What a stinker.

Plus, Abi's birthday plans for the next couple of days went straight out of the window. I must commend her from bouncing straight back from this, though, and we actually had an enjoyable evening, the three of us.

I felt bad for contributing to the overall vibe of 'worst birthday' by delivering a substandard cake. Why didn't I stick to using the fan oven?! That said, it did taste delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.