Dominoes

This morning I drove my car up the road that runs between Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh, and left it in a small lay-by a little way north of Barbon, near a farm called Treasonfield. From there, I ran back home, taking the route that I walked last Sunday.

As I ran along, I thought about how it's both a lovely walk - lots of beautiful scenery - and a great run. After twenty-six years, you'd think I could tell you what makes for a good run, but I'm not so sure I can; there are lots of factors. But a bit of variety definitely comes into it and the run today had plenty of that.

Once I was home, I cooled off - it was a hot day for running - and had a shower before walking down to The Royal to meet Bob and Rich for lunch and a couple of beers, after which we embarked on the walk up to Treasonfield.

Well, it was every bit as lovely as I had hoped it would be. The sun was out, the company was great, and the route was perfect, taking in paths, fields, little lanes, and, just outside of Casterton, the woods in my photo. In this one section, four trees had all fallen over like arboreal dominoes, lifting sections of the ground.

Once we reached the car - I knew hadn't forgotten my keys because I'd checked I had them with me about fifty times while we were walking - we drove back to Kirkby, where I did a quick bit of shopping for Abi's birthday tomorrow before meeting back up with Bob and Rich, plus my good friend Hugo, who joined us for a couple of beers.

From there, we had drinks in the refurbished King's Arms - which, despite the management's cavalier approach to the apostrophe, is fast becoming my favourite pub in town - and then onto Number Nine for dinner.

It would have been pretty much a perfect day, anyway, but this was extra special for me because seeing Rich and Bob for days like this has been one of the quite specific things I've missed over the fifteen months. Fingers crossed it won't be too long until we can do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.