Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Sunny days and signs of spring.

Firstly, for those of you that read this and keep seeing me going on about "Beltane" and "Earth Point" and are wondering "what is she babbling about?" you can get more info here. Basically on the 30th April, 12,000 spectators head up Calton Hill to see it become alive with fire and painted people, with over 300 volunteer performers taking part as a procession travels around the hill and welcomes in the Summer.

There are various aspects to the performance, this year I am part of Earth Point. We represent (surprise, surprise) the element of Earth. It's been loads of fun and fantastic to see the forming of the festival from a different angle to my previous years.

Today was the first walkthrough. Glorious sunshine and sunburn. I had a number of photos I wanted to use today but I settled for this one, taken when lying within our space on the hill, waiting for the walkthrough to start. I loved the fact the fresh spring buds were just starting to show against the vibrant blue sky.

For anyone in Edinburgh wanting active blips of people I suggest you head to the mound at lunchtime on Saturday. There will be a Busk happening with many colourful people and drummers and performances. Or better still, buy a ticket and come along on the night!

Exhausted now but determined to try and finish my costume tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.