Windy Summit of Ben-y Vrackie - A Birthday Climb

Loved today. My son and I climbed this hill with his friend's family. In fact it was only the mum pals and the two you lad friends who climbed to the very windy summit.

The first part of Ben-y Vrackie, from Moulin near Pitlochry to the lochan is a gentle climb - done by us all, the youngest of whom was 3. Then, when you get to the lochan - and in our case, have lunch - the terrain gets a lot steeper.

It took the birthday girl 25mins to ascend, me 45mins and the boys somewhere in between. Since she'd been waiting 20mins already, I didn't stay at the top long but it really was wild. I can only imagine how it might be in winter! Could see all around, including back to Scheihallion and Loch Tummell and so Foss - see additional photo.

Back down slowly, enjoying the great weather, we got fish and chips and all safely boarded our train at 7pm. Pick up by G at Edinburgh Waverley. The holidaydrawsto a close but I've still got an allotment day tomorrow.

Edit: summit is 2700 and something feet, so not a Munro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.