Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Crown…

It was cloudy this morning when JR set off for the gym. In fact, the cloud cover hung around all day until about 5pm! Quite a relief, actually.

We took a walk down to the Meadows via Dougal’s house. I still had the idea that Archie will get used to him, but I think I’ve come to realise that I’ll have to give up. Dougal goes crazy and wants to leap at Archie, and Mr Grump gets growly because Dougal won’t stay still. JR reminded me that he did actually grab a puppy years ago, and it was in fact the incident which hastened his already planned neutering. So, we’ll leave it until Dougal joins him in a neutral state.

I popped up to see Uncle A and bring him a much needed item that he’d run out of, and then I drove to Elizabeth’s for an afternoon of fizz and nibbles. Though I didn’t have any fizz, of course. JR, Archie and Hazel all walked there. We had a lovely time, with loads of goodies and plenty of bubbles for the others. The promised sunshine eventually arrived, so we decanted outside for the ‘dessert’. And what a spectacular entrance it made - a huge gold cake stand with a crown on top!

Olympics start tomorrow - how exciting - but meanwhile, I’m enjoying the ‘Hundreds’ cricket (though JR is not).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.