Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

A story as a friend...

23 years ago I picked up two books in a shop, little did I know what they would lead to.

The Wheel of Time series (Robert Jordan) has been a constant companion in my life since, now on the final book, volume 14, it feels like I will be loosing a good friend when I finish it.

It is such masterful storytelling that once you have it open you can't put it down! I'm trying not to get through this next massive tome too quickly, limiting myself to several pages at a time.

Last night I tucked myself up in bed and began reading..transported to a wonderful world where I lost myself in the stories of all the characters. I awoke in the whee small hours with it still open and laying on my chest.

My good lady is working nights so I popped the light on and had another little read...

Over the years I have revelled in the words that have made me think, outraged me, lead me to peace, given me understanding and entertained me. Books....the written word...voices of people from long ago speaking with such clarity, stories and truth from around the world and in time!

Books.....my constant friends.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.