Ekiden relays, Gent

I was part of a relay team competing in Gent today. The marathon distance (42.2km) is divided up into six stages and I was fourth leg running the longest stage of 10km. I wasn't hugely impressed with the course or the organisation but to be fair there were 322 teams competing so that's a lot of people to organise! It was also horribly windy today but at least there was no snow or rain which was a big possibility at the start of the week.

I asked Olivia if she'd like to come and watch me run but she replied that it was boring watching me run and she'd rather stay at home and play. Fair point, well made I thought!

Apparently I recorded the sixth fastest time of the day for a female 10km runner which wasn't bad, although I was still disappointed with my time. Actually I can't work out how they recorded the time as the change over area was quite long and the electronic plates were quite some distance before this area, but hey, it was just nice to be competing. Some of my team mates had never raced before and they all did brilliantly although some didn't take it quite as seriously as others, hence my blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.