Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Helpful handyman

JR went to the gym, and as she often suggests, today Archie and I went to meet her at the cafe. But today she chose to do some extra exercises, and it was very hot and sunny, so we gave up and came home. But we did see Hamish’s dad - sans Hamish - and Archie went bonkers!

The window chaps came, almost three months since they first came to inspect the shattered window and declare what was needed. Waste of time, really, as someone else was supposed to have been to inspect it - it’s more problematic than first thought. Not happy!

But a handyman chap came to have a look at a couple of wee jobs - tiling the kitchen cupboard (we have leftover tiles from the bathroom) and to examine the door that we want turned around. He was very nice, and nothing seems too much of a problem.

JR and Archie went for a big walk in the Hermitage in the afternoon, but I stayed home because I couldn’t be bothered had to wait for the handyman. Also, I’ve arranged my first telephone consultation with an NHS physiotherapist. Don’t know why, because I’ve already had a face to face consultation with a doctor and the local physiotherapist - and they referred me, so why do I need yet another phone call? *sigh*

I’ve been watching the unfolding news about Afghanistan all day - horrific. 


Thank you for all your kind words re my Uncle Angus. He will be sadly missed.

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.