The Joy Of Life, Hyde Park, London

Last week was so full on work wise that I was totally shattered by the end of it. I really didn't think I could do another week at that intensity. This week, so far, has been completely different - the amount of work to do has fallen off a cliff! I have no idea why as more deadlines are fast approaching but at least everything has slowed down even if it is for only a few days.
This morning I decided to take a different route to work via Hyde Park. It was a lovely morning so I decided to stop at a little cafe on the edge of the park and sit outside with a strong cappuccino and a croissant. It was rather lovely and it had a gorgeous looking outside bar (see today's extra image). Unfortunately, the bloke who served me looked like he'd chewed a wasp or sucked a lemon so I didn't feel at all like it must be "the place"!
I then continued my walk past The Joy of Life fountain where I took today's main shot of one of the children that form part of this very striking sculpture. I hope my image matches the title. This is what the Royal Parks website says about it:

The Joy of Life fountain depicts two bronze figures holding hands while appearing to dance above the water, with four bronze children emerging from the pool.
It is located next to Aldford Street North Gate, alongside Park Lane.
The fountain was designed by T. B. Huxley-Jones and dates from 1963, when Park Lane was widened. It was donated by the Constance Fund to replace the Boy and Dolphin Fountain which previously stood on this spot.
This part of Hyde Park was once a much-admired Victorian sunken garden created in the 1860s. Before that it was a reservoir supplying the royal palaces with drinking water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.