Stuck On You

The microwave had to be loosened in its housing yesterday to give enough clearance for a tile to be slid into the gap. Thought I’d take advantage last night and remove it entirely to give it a thorough clean. Which resulted in the top piece of trim falling off! The only contact adhesive I had in the house was about twenty years old and had sadly solidified totally when I went to try and use it. More was obviously required, but it proved almost impossible to track down just a small tube. I’m sure you used to be able to pick such a thing up in any supermarket, but the only thing I found initially was a massive 500ml tin in B&Q, costing around £20!!
Finally managed to track down a tube of the requisite size in Halfords so rushed home to reattach the trim. Only to be told by the tiler that I was under no circumstances allowed to remove the microwave from its housing for at least 24 hours, as his adhesive would take that long to set. And because it was now such a tight squeeze twixt microwave and tiles, he couldn’t risk me dislodging things.
Still, I did take advantage of the microwave being out of its housing last night to paint the wall behind it, as I discovered it was just bare plaster. It had been like that for ten years, and wouldn’t be seen once the microwave was slotted back in, but my slightly obsessive mind could not cope with knowing that the wall was unpainted, even though I couldn’t see it! I didn’t go to the length of matching the colour to the rest of the walls though - I’m sad, but not that sad!! I just used up one of the tester pots we had been trying throughout the rest of the house.
So even though I’ve got some super quick contact adhesive, I can’t use it until the super slow tile cement has set firm. Fortunately, I’m out all evening - and most of tomorrow as well - so it won’t be an issue.
Apart from running around trying to track down the correct glue, little else has been achieved today, though I did manage to squeeze in a gym session at lunchtime. Amazing how busy you can be and still achieve next to nothing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.