King of Wishful Thinking

This is Nigel. Nigel is sitting on Lear’s throne. Nigel thinks he should be playing the lead in King Lear, because he is clearly the best actor in the society. But the director has seen fit to draft in a D list American film star to play Lear. Nigel is not happy.
And that is a short synopsis of my character in our next production - “A Bunch of Amateurs” by Ian Hislop and Nick Newman. Just under four weeks to go until opening night and the play is starting to come together. Maybe it’s because we are a bunch of amateurs ourselves that we find it quite easy to slip into the various roles. My character is also described as pompous, stuck up and self regarding. For some reason, I was deemed to be perfect for the part. Not quite sure what to make of that - but I’ll assume that the director felt I had the dramatic range to play so much against type. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!
It is an extremely funny play, and I can’t wait to be up on stage in front of a live audience again, after almost two years away.
Another busy day today. We wanted to just update the blinds in the kitchen after the new tiles went on, but that has somehow now escalated into new curtain rails and curtains in another two rooms and brand new blinds in the study! The lady came round this morning to measure up and we will need to go and choose fabrics in due course. Did the weekly food shop after she had gone and then squeezed in a visit to the gym. Just waiting now on a man coming round to talk about a new front door, before dashing off to Barrow for a band practice this evening. So no chance of an early night tonight, and I’ve got to be up early tomorrow morning to take the bike for an MOT. Roll on the weekend, when I might finally get a lie in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.