Mixed day

The day started with a walk in the rain and a phone call with the news about a colleague who is losing his job.  I had an inkling as he had contacted me and was coming for coffee but I thought it might be for advice and not news of a fait accompli.  However he sounded pragmatic and surprising not bitter or angry.  I can only assume the financials are enough to put off short term worry.  

My brother messaged me with the news that his daughter had won Young poet of the Year competition ( not sure if she won or was in top 15) but certainly an achievement and we are very proud of her) whilst still  feeling miffed that No2 missed out in his opportunity yesterday.  You can read her poem here, although there is a few swear words which I have never heard her utter!! https://poetrysociety.org.uk/news/foyle-young-poets-of-the-year-award-results/ (Poem 23 - Erin Hateley).

However No.2 sent me a picture of his three works being displayed at an exhibition in Seattle - shame he won’t get the opportunity to visit (bloody Covid) but it sounds like a good show and can add to his CV.

 Relaxing afternoon but no dinner (OH had fish and chips) as I was feeling a bit under the weather.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.