We’ll Bring The House Down

Nearly all the easily movable content of our house is now up in the loft. There is a small square of space left at the top of the ladder, which is where the last few items will be put once we have finished with them on Monday morning. They’re also the things we are likely to need first of all when we re-occupy - TV, chairs, lamps, etc.
But I really do wonder just how much weight is up there now. Wherever possible, the heavier items have been placed over the top of the internal walls but, even so, there is still a lot resting on the boards between the rafters. I’ve always worked on the basis that if it can stand the weight of me and Mrs C up there together, then a few books and CDs shouldn’t be a problem. But there are over 700 CDs and a lot of books. Not exactly “a few”, and that’s before adding random bits of furniture and boxes full of ornaments. I’m definitely at the point now where I just stand at the top of the ladder and slide things into position, rather than add my weight to what is up there - always assuming I could actually find a bit of floor to stand on in the first place.
I’m sure all will be fine. I’m really looking forward to when the works are finished and we can start bringing things down again and putting them away or on display. Some of the ornaments have been up there for three years now, so it will be a bit of a voyage of discovery opening some of the boxes. And I’m looking forward to having a loft with only a few things stored away in it. Also, I suspect the house will (probably literally) breathe a sigh of relief as well!
We’ve both had PT sessions this morning and I’ve done a bit more prep work on the walls. But the time has now come to stop, put on some clean clothes and head off to Manchester for a concert we should have attended over eighteen months ago. I’m sure it will prove to be worth the wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.