River of Flowers

By doffy

Saturday: Garden Wildlife

Dry & warm first thing - rain by lunchtime, then for rest of the day.
In the Maple there were half a dozen long-tailed tits, which moved to the elderflower so I could see them properly! 
Then a goldfinch, blue  tit, blackbird, a very noisy wren.
When I was eating my breakfast a huge shape fell from the sky landing on the top path … just a juvenile Pheasant!!  - he wandered around for a while, The Shoot had started early, just after 8am - heard shots in the distance …
Lovely chat with my daughter as she walked to a friend’s house - topic of conversation ABBA - the 80s and “Mama Mia” at the theatre :-))
Pruning the Buddleia  - until the rain got so heavy as to be uncomfortable, will finish it off tomorrow or very soon! 
Bossy Robin alternating between singing and “pointing“ at the ground for me to get out of the way of a tasty snack!!
Salad from the garden/greenhouse with lunch - reminding me to start more seeds off …
Planted garlic: about a dozen fat cloves from a bulb I’d bought at Lidl. They’re in a tub of good compost, no point trying them in the ground as I only grow a few.
Was thinking the other day that I’ve not seen ladybirds this summer - then this little one in the garden!
Enjoy your weekend x
Stay safe & healthy & happy everyone :-)
Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.