Flowerpower's journal

By Flowerpower

The Champion

This is Randolph Adolphus Turpin, otherwise known as The Leamington Licker (1928 - 1966). He lived in Leamington Spa and was Middleweight Champion of the World in 1951. Tragically he committed suicide at the age of 37. (Yet again I have learnt more about my home area thanks to Blip. It continues to open my eyes to the world around me and helps me to appreciate the everyday things).

This statue is located in Warwick Market Square. I think it is fantastic. Full of vitality and power.

I've had a lovely day of pottering with sister Flowerpower. We spent the morning chilling and reading. Then after lunch we went for a good walk around Warwick for an hour and a half. We explored the backstreets around the outside of the castle and down Mill Road before heading back home for a cup of tea and a hot cross bun.

Happy Good Friday everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.