WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Flapjacks

I felt a lot better today and was up early to have coffee and watch the news. Cop26 not very inspiring.
What I do find inspiring is watching other programmes about what people around the world are doing about climate change. EarthShot Prize was one series, then special reports on Sky News channel. Children around the world doing positive things in their own communities and local environments. 
When I go shopping these days it takes me ages as I look at all the ingredients and that’s not because I’m vegan - I already know the things I can buy to eat - no it’s checking for palm oil and recyclable or biodegradable packaging.  Palm oil is in practically everything we buy but can be avoided (I look for certified sustainable) and as for packaging…why do so many say not recylclable?
Why are loose fruit and veg more expensive than those wrapped in plastic?
Things must change.
There are still lots of things Frank and I need to do to change our impact on the climate but we are trying bit by bit.

I said to Frank I would make scones today but when I looked in the cupboard there was no flour. I could have gone to the local shop but it was raining so I asked if he’d like flapjacks instead. He said yes so off I went into the kitchen.
Well, I wish I had gone to the shop and bought flour for scones.
Though I had greased the tins the flapjacks stuck and I had to chisel them out at the sides and hack at them with a knife to get them out - it took about half an hour!
However, they do taste very good even though some are in bits. 
I made oat and walnut and oat, coconut and cherry. Yum!

Phoned Sue for a chat today. She’s waiting patiently for a hip operation and struggling with her mobility. My nephew lives with her so can help if she needs anything.

That’s all for today.
Goodnight Blippers :-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.