Nicky

By nicky

Homeward bound

After packing up this morning, Jan kindly dropped me off at the hire car place to pick up my ride home. I’m used to driving a Golf, a relatively small car, so imagine my surprise when they said they’d upgraded me (ie, this is the only car we have) to an SUV style car! It was huge! And had some unwelcome features that I didn’t know how to turn off, such as the ‘lane assist’ setting which fought with me when I wanted to change lanes in the motorway or go round corners. That was very disconcerting on a busy motorway. And it was really busy, apart from the M6 toll road which was so quiet, it was worth the £7!

Eventually, after lots of rest stops, I got home, and boy was it nice to be home. The garage called to say that it was indeed the timing chain so another large bill coming up. I think it’s worth keeping the car for a while longer - and actually I just can’t face the trouble of finding a new one at the moment so I hope it won’t give me too much more trouble after this, at least for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.