madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Cold Swim

I joined the swimmers at Polperro again today - we all went about 2 weeks ago, this is todays visit! Can you spot the swimmers outside the harbour wall?!What a difference. I think it was a combination of the storm, the winter season and a craft fayre at Fowey, but the place was virtually deserted! The previous time the streets were alive with people and all the shops were open. This time only 2 pasty shops and the pubs and a few shops were open! Despite the storm the sea was quite calm and here wasn't a strong wind - I think Cornwall got off lightly. I asked the swimmers to do some syncronised swimming for me - see extra for the success of that!
I stayed up on the path with Party Girls mum who was in a wheelchair as she fell and fractured her leg in two places as she was taking the rubbish out! Oscar whined the whole time and kept looking over the wall to check on the swimmers and his mum!
After the swim we headed to the pasty shop and I had a turkey pasty with sage and stuffing! Someone bought a Stollen which was the tastiest I have ever had! The Exile ate my marzipan as i hate the taste of it!
On the way home we stopped at The tamar centre as they were having a craft fayre too! Bought some lovely Christmas cards! Then it was back to mine for a coffee and we ended up talking steamers! How the topic of conversation changes with the decades as we get older! We had already discussed Christmas in Calstock for a friend of The Exiles who has recently moved to the village - she gives happiness lectures! We also discussed  transexuals. The Exile and The Happiness Guru felt that they did not have the same experience as natural women, and they disliked being called Cisgender. As transgender people identify intrinsically as women/men  I don't feel the same. Particularly as their experience of being treated unequally is perhaps far more than ours. 

As it's been a while since I last blipped a brief update - I have a goitre! My thyroid test came back fine and I am awaiting an ultrasound appt. To my delight the Dr put me back on HRT - I've been menopausal since my late 30's and I think this has been having a great effect on my mood and physical health. I had been told by two other women that once you come off it you can not restart it - wrong! I shall let them know! I'm also seeing a sports physio as since I helped at a Beetroot Gleaning event a few weeks ago both my hips have been painful - walking in the morning is very ainful, at least it eases over the day so I'm hoping it's not indicating hip replacement as a Dr once told me I would need  as I got older. I am now much older! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.